The Joys of Technology

Recently, I’ve been watching the Netflix original series House of Cards, not only to orient myself with the inter-workings of the politics of Washington, D.C., but also because, let’s face it, it’s incredibly addictive. One thing I’ve learned from HOF, other than how to be ruthlessly cutthroat while speaking in a slightly off gentile Southern accent, is how accessible the news can be. Go-getting journalist Zoe Barnes, played by the incomparable Kate Mara, after being fired from a traditionally respectable job at The Washington Post begins working for a more 21st century news company that allows workers to post stories directly from their phones. Their goal is reporting the news and making content as soon as it happens.

What a great idea. What if every story was magically accessible at the tip of your fingers? Imagine the progress we could make if everything was readily accessible. 

But, what will we actually use it for? Twitter. Or Facebook. Or Instagram. Or pinning hundreds of photos of our dream wedding. Or cats doing somersaults. 

The point I’m trying to make, and yes, there is one, is that with everything so accessible, I can now write more. So that’s what going to happen. Whenever I get a second, I’ll write and reflect. It might make for some crazy and disorganized content, or it might make for some new insights. Who knows?

Leave a comment